New here, not sure how everything works???

So hey everyone. Im new to this type of game but love megaman and this sounded interesting so I figured that I would give it a try. I'm waiting for my navi to be approved but figured that I should figure out how to play before it got approved. So how do i explore/do missions. Get into fights with ncp's or other users. How do i get into fights with viruses, find mystery data, etc. You don't have to explain everything but some help would be nice, or a link to how to play. Thanks in advance.
So there are a few things you can do when you start out.

Introductory posts to introduce your operator/Navigator pair can be done at their respective Real World areas; simply make a thread for yourself. From there, you can jack in, and make another thread in the Net World.

Exploring the Net World, you can either RP by yourself without encountering any viruses, or you can request for battles with viruses. Read up on other threads to see how battles are conducted, perhaps give the rules thread a quick read.

You can fight in a PvP battle at the Colosseum. Well, theoretically, at least. There isn't any reward system for it currently, so it's just for kicks or something. We had a tournament forever ago. It lasted forever. Ewww.

Fights with NPCs can be either in a mission (which I'll get to later) or in a multiple-of-5 battle in any given network. Just fight four consecutive battles anywhere, and the fifth will be guaranteed to be a boss battle. Don't expect anything too hard for your first one if you're a bit weak, though.

You can do missions by posting at the Mission BBS at Internet City. What kind of missions you can request are listed at the rules thread there.

Also, mystery data depends on whether or not the mods are feeling generous and/or remember to put them out in battles in the first place.
Tagging along with Fera's explanation: