Grim's current review

I know this is kind of random (hence residing in the Spam Can), but I just had the urge to write this. I've played Mass Effect 1, and quite enjoyed it. There were a few bugs, a few things that could make the game better, but overall a good game. Now I started playing Mass Effect 2, which is rather different gameplay-wise. I'm just going to put in the changes and rate them from like to loathe:

Like:
- Graphics. It's much prettier to look at, and has lots of detail compared to some of the more plain (and copied) places in ME1

- More characters/squad mates. More is better.

- Significantly lower cooldown of skills. It makes skills seem more useful, and being able to "aim" with the power wheel up to identify targets for separate skills is a great feature.

- Armor Customization. I like being able to change Shepard's armor design to whatever color I want, so now I can tool around in sweet jungle camo anywhere I go.

- Flying from place to place. It makes it a bit more immersive, and makes it seem like you're actually traveling great distances, and have to take fuel into account, etc.

- Rush at any time. Being able to dash regardless of the situation is great, so I can cover distances quickly. In ME1 I resorted to blowing up grenades on myself to trigger the "combat mode" required to allow me to rush.

- Heavy weapons. More boom = more smiles for me.

Indifferent:
- Turning weapon ammo upgrades into toggle skills. I can see how switching to different ammo types using just the power wheel is useful, and more intuitive than going into the equipment screen in the middle of battle

- No equipment screen. Very few weapons, all weapon upgrades apply to everyone, and ammo upgrades are skills

- Paragon/Renegade "interrupt" quasi-quicktime events. Eh.

- Hacking minigames. Better than the X/Y/B/A "Bop-It" game to unlock safes, etc.

Not fond of: (but I understand why)