Guest Lecture

"You're kidding right?"

"We're perfectly serious, Mr. Matsumoto. It's only for a day, and we'll be happy to write you any letters of recommendation that you require for..."

"The job description said that my programming skills and background in computer science would be useful here. You do realize that I have no prior experience working with children, right?"

"Your transcript says you took courses in childhood development... and besides, you're only substituting for the guest lecturer on elementary netbattling."

Suien Matsumoto sighed, and walked over to the nearest vending machine in the teacher's lounge of ACDC Elementary school. Selecting a coffee-flavored drink he had grown fond of during his college years, he swiped his card and pressed the appropriate buttons. The can landed in the tray with a satisfying *thud* as the dark-haired netOp turned around and removed his glasses, wiping them clean with his shirt. "Let me get this straight," he said, shooting the principal a weary look, "One session of teaching and you'll write me the letters I need?"

"That's absolutely correct," replied the principal a smile growing on his bearded features, "plus you'll be doing us a great service by teaching the next generation of netbattlers basic life skills in the networked world."

Suien just sighed again, then smiled, placing the glasses over his eyes once more. "Fine," he said, "lead me to them."

-*-

As the principal led Suien through the halls of the school, waving to teachers as he passed by the open doors, the young college graduate smirked to himself. While he had never attended an Electopian school, his own childhood experience had been remarkably similar to what the kids were experiencing now. Nostalgia filled Suien's mind as his sharp eyes darted back and forth, taking in the familiar sights and sounds of youth.

"Bring back memories?" asked the principal, noticing Suien's smirk.